2022 Manager Of The Year

Joe O’Hara of the Al Thomas Athletics

The Yawkey Baseball League is proud to announce the winner of the 2022 Barbara Medieros Manager of the Year to Joe O’Hara of the Al Thomas Athletics

O’Hara guided a team returning many core players from the 2021 championship team to a second straight 21 win season. A record that once again secured Al Thomas the top seed for the playoffs.

In the playoffs, O’Hara would lead Al Thomas to the 2022 YBL Championship. In the semifinals, Al Thomas swept the Brighton Braves and defeat the Bright Black Sox 4 games to 1 in the finals.

O’Hara has been a part of the Al Thomas franchise since 1983 when he began as a player. He would begin coaching in 1990 eventually taking over as manager in 1997 and franchise holder in 2009.

This marks the seventh time O’Hara has won the Manager Of the Year award. The most recent time coming back in 2021.

Congratulations Joe on a well deserved honor.

The nominees for the manager of the year award are chosen by the board of directors. Each franchise then votes on the award. The results of the voting can be found here.
Manager of the Year Award Results