2023 Manager Of The Year

John Griffith Brighton Black Sox

The Yawkey Baseball League is proud to announce the winner of the 2023 Barbara Medieros Manager of the Year is John Griffith of the Brighton Black Sox.

Griffith managed a team that integrated several new players with a strong core of returning veterans. The Black Sox would compile a 19-5 regular season record to earn them the top seed for the playoffs.

In the playoffs, the Black Sox defeated the Brighton Braves in the semifinals 3 games to 1. This setup a third consecutive finals matchup with Al Thomas. In the finals, the Black Sox would beat Al Thomas 4 games to 1 to take home the championship.

Winning this award brings Griffith’s YBL journey full circle. Griffith entered the Yawkey League in 1994 as a player for Medieros for whom the award is named. After several years playing for Hyde Park and West Roxbury, Griffith became a member of the Black Sox in 2001. Griffith took over the Black Sox franchise in 2008. This is Griffith’s first time winning the award.

Congratulations John on a well deserved honor.

The nominees for the manager of the year award are chosen by the board of directors. Each franchise then votes on the award. The results of the voting can be found here.
Manager of the Year Award Results