Raffle To Support Operation Homefront

Operation Homefront is raffling two Bruins tickets with proceeds going to support Operation Homefront in their efforts to support local military families.

Raffle Tickets are $10 per ticket. $25 for 3 tickets.
Seats are together in Balcony 324, Row 1.
Drawing will be on Saturday December 15.

For more information or to purchase tickets online here.

Leave a Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

YBL In the News

The Revere Journal recently ran an article about the YBL Awards Barbeque spotlighting those Revere natives who won awards. Read the complete article here.

Leave a Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

September Events

Tuesday, September 18
Heritage Hall, 114 Granite Ave, Milton, MA 02186 (map)
Board Meets at 6:30PM
General Membership Meets at 7:30PM

The meeting is open to players, coaches and franchise holders. This is your chance to speak up and give input into how our great league is administrated. We will meet monthly from September thru May.

Agenda for the September Meeting

  • League Awards BBQ
  • Scheduling Proposal
  • Team Membership and Player Recruiting
  • Open Forum

Saturday, September 22, 3PM to 6PM
Heritage Hall, 114 Granite Ave, Milton, MA 02186 (map)

In addition to presenting the League Awards, the league raffle will be drawn at this time. Admission to the BBQ is free. A cash bar will be available.
For more information on the event, or to purchase raffle tickets, pleas visit the 2018 Yawkey League Awards Cookout event page.

Leave a Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

2018 League Awards Announced

The 2018 YBL League Awards and Awards cookout have been announced.

Matt Costanza of the McKay Club wins the MVP award. Billy Sullivan of the Charlestown Townies captures both the Cy Young and Rookie of the Year Awards.

The awards will be presented at a cookout scheduled for Saturday September 22 from 3pm to 6:30pm. The cookout will take place at the Heritage Hall in Milton (map). The event is free, however we do encourage that you register for planning purposes.

For registration and sponsorship information visit the 2018 Yawkey League Awards Cookout event page.

League Awards

Most Valuable Player – Matt Costanza, Mckay Club Beacons

Pitcher of the Year – Billy Sullivan, Charlestown Townies

Rookie of the Year – Billy Sullivan, Charlestown Townies

Postseason Most Valuable Player – Mike Smith, Brighton Braves

Fireman of the Year – Will Slayne, Brighton Black Sox

Comeback Player of the Year – Zack Moore, McKay Club Beacons

Manager of the Year – John Moore, McKay Club Beacons

Executive of the Year – Devin Santilli, Charlestown Townies

Franchise of the Year – Brighton Braves

Gentleman of the Year – Paul McCaffery, Boston Parks Department

Joan Tarpey-Skinner Service in Excellence Award – Brian Rizzo, Savin Hill Dodgers

Presidents Award – Barbara Costanza

Tom and Jean Yawkey Appreciation Award – Chris Santosuosso, Revere Rockies

Umpire of the Year – Mike Hinojosa, Massachusetts Baseball Umpires Association

Rookie, Gold Glove and Silver Slugger Awards

All Rookie Team
Gold Glove Awards
Silver Slugger Awards

Voting Results

League Awards
Gold Glove Awards
Silver Slugger Awards

Leave a Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Braves Walk Of With 2018 Championship

Game 7 would see a matchup of Chris Sandini for Revere and Mike Smith for the Braves. Sandini would be pitching on three days rest having picked up the Game 3 win throwing six strong inning. Smith was going on one days rest, having just pitch a 4-0 shutout in Game 5.

While both teams had chances, the game would remain scoreless through seven innings to go extra innings. In the top of the eighth inning Revere would mount a two out threat as both Adam Del Rio and Ryan Petrone would reach base. But Smith would end the threat, getting Kenny Polanco to ground out to second.

In the bottom of the eighth, Alex Haslam lead off against Jon Shepard who had come in to relieve Sandini in the bottom of the fifth. Haslam would reach on slow roller to short. Haslam would advance to second on a steal of second as Ari Glantz was attempting a bunt. After failing to advance Haslam to third with a bunt, Glantz would drive a single down the left field line, to score Haslam to give the Braves the 1-0 walk off win.

Mike Smith earned MVP honors winning games one, five and seven. For the series Smith pitched 22 inning giving up only 2 earned runs for a 0.63 ERA.

Congratulations to Ted Tracy and all the Brighton Braves.

Leave a Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Winner Takes All

Game 7 of the 2018 Yawkey League Championship series is set to take place Thursday August 30 at Rogers Park in Brighton. First pitch is at 7:30 PM as the #1 Brighton Braves host the #3 Revere Rockies.

The Braves took a 1-0 lead in the series with a 6-2 victory behind a complete game thrown by Mike Smith. Revere would tie the series 1-1 following a 3-0 shutout thrown by Jon Shepard. Revere took a 3-1 series lead with one run victories 8-7 in Game 3 and 10-9 in Game 4. The Braves extended the series winning Game 5 with a 4-0 shutout thrown by Mike Smith. The Braves evened the series by scoring seven runs in the seventh to win Game 6 and force the deciding Game 7.

This will be the second consecutive Championship Game 7 played by the Braves as they look to win their first championship since 1977. Revere is looking to win their first league YBL championship.

Leave a Comment

Filed under Uncategorized