Author Archives: Marc DesRoches

2017 YBL Partnerships formed

Devlins Logo Extra Innings Logo

Gryphon Bat Logo

Gryphon bats has once again stepped up to the plate to serve as a partner with the Yawkey League.  Last year Gryphon bats owner, former United States Marine and YBL Alum donated $400 to the YBL from sales to Yawkey League teams and players.  This year he promises 5% of sales will go back to the league and he will personally match it out of his own bank account.  If that isn’t someone who supports the YBL, then I don’t know who is.  Please take a look at for all of your batting needs.  With the YBL and Gryphon Bats partnership, everybody wins!!!  ALL YBLers receive 20% off on all purchases from Gryphon Bats…order today!!!

We thank the Freeport Tavern for many years of service.  The Tavern has hosted every Yawkey League meeting in recent memory before closing its doors this past January.  Former YBL Board Member and future YBL Hall of Famer, Pete Lankarge, recently came through for us big time.  Devlins has announced that our meetings can be held there on the first Tuesday of every month for the foreseeable future.

Also partnering with the YBL is Extra Innings in Watertown.  Current Brighton Brave and EI-Watertown franchise owner, Jack McLaughlin recently made me aware of many deals and discounts that he now has available for YBL teams and players.  Please take a look below and call EI-Watertown to learn more…(617) 860-2361.

$55/90 min
TUNNEL SPECIAL: If after 9pm on Monday, Tuesday or Wednesday, $25/Hour. Now through – end of March
Pro Shop:
15% off entire pro shop
Discounts on Team Orders (Uniforms, Hats, Baseballs, Apparel, etc.)

Comments Off on 2017 YBL Partnerships formed

Filed under Uncategorized

2017 Yawkey League B.O.D. Announced


Etched in stone for 2017, the YBL Board of Directors was recently elected by the members by a vote of 13-0.  We look forward to working with all 13 Yawkey League Franchises to continue to build and improve upon the solid foundation that we have.

Marc DesRoches, Commissioner

Dave McKay, President Emeritus

Joe O’Hara, VP/YBL Treasurer

David Treska, League Secretary

Matt Grimes, Member-at-Large

John Griffith, Member-at-Large

We are going to hit the ground running with our Umpire Meeting already scheduled for 1/4/17 and our Rulebook Meeting scheduled for 2/1/17.

Comments Off on 2017 Yawkey League B.O.D. Announced

Filed under Uncategorized

2016 Yawkey League Banquet a Success

al-thomas-banquet-stage alibrandis-banquet-pic

The 2016 Yawkey League Awards Banquet and Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony was a rousing success this past Saturday.  Those in attendance enjoyed some laughs, had some food and drink and either received an award themselves or were able to see a teammate take home some hardware.  Five of our finest (3 players and 2 umpires) were inducted into the Hall of Fame and 5 more people with Yawkey League roots were inducted into the National Semi-Pro Baseball Hall of Fame in Evansville, Indiana.

Congratulations to all of our award winners and inductees.  Many thanks to all those who helped to put this great event together and many thanks to all who attended and cheered.  I hope you all had a great time!!!

December 7th is our next league meeting…FINAL BUDGET AND ELECTIONS FOR 2017!!!

Comments Off on 2016 Yawkey League Banquet a Success

Filed under Uncategorized

YBL Hall of Fame Class of 2016 Announced


On Saturday, November 19th the Yawkey League will have its annual Awards Banquet honoring all 2016 award winners and inducting the Hall of Fame Class of 2016.  The following people will join the 157 members who have already been inducted between 1996-2015.

Bill Casey, Umpire

Ed Smallcomb, Umpire

Mike Barthel, Player, McKay Club

Mike McCarthy, Player, Revere Rockies

Marc DesRoches, Player, Somerville Alibrandis

Congratulations Gentlemen!!!

For any folks who would like to attend this year’s event here is the live link to purchase tickets…

If anyone would like a ticket for the raffle, please use the “triple play” option.


Comments Off on YBL Hall of Fame Class of 2016 Announced

Filed under Uncategorized

2016 Silver Slugger and Gold Glove Winners Announced

At the Yawkey League Banquet on November 19th at the IBEW Hall in Dorchester, the Yawkey League will also honor its Silver Slugger and Gold Glove Award winners.


2016 Gold Gloves

P  Matt Nicholson, Brighton Black Sox

C  Tony Iafolla, Revere Rockies

1B Angelo Collucci, Stoneham Sabers

2B Tim Varakis, Brighton Black Sox

3B Chris Hartery, Revere Rockies

SS Mark Addesa, Somerville Alibrandis

OF Mike Maguire, Somerville Alibrandis

OF Trevor Boyce, South Boston Saints

OF Dave Clarke, Savin Hill Dodgers


2016 Silver Sluggers

P  Mike Smith, Brighton Braves

C  Matt Rodriguez, Al Thomas Athletics

1B Apolinar De La Cruz, Brighton Black Sox

2B PJ McDonald, Malden Maddogs

3B Tommy Lenane, Stoneham Sabers

SS Spencer Tonies, Brighton Black Sox

OF Freddi Carrera, Al Thomas Athletics

OF Bobby Barrett, Somerville Alibrandis

OF Trevor Boyce, South Boston Saints

DH Kevin Luciano, Stoneham Sabers



Comments Off on 2016 Silver Slugger and Gold Glove Winners Announced

Filed under Uncategorized

More 2016 YBL Awards Announced

The 2016 YBL Banquet is slated for November 19th at the IBEW Hall in Dorchester and here are more YBLers who will receive awards on our night of stars.

Tarpey/Skinner Award for Service to the YBL-Richard Soohoo, East Boston Knights

The President’s Award-Marty Walsh, Mayor of Boston

The Yawkey Appreciation Award-Brian Rizzo, Savin Hill Dodgers

2016 YBL All-Rookie Team


Noah Zavolas, Charlestown Townies

Javi Martinez, Savin Hill Dodgers

Ted Downing, South Boston Saints

Noah Paredes, Malden Maddogs

Spencer Tonies, Brighton Black Sox

Carlos Yan, South End Astros

Andrew Whitten, Brighton Braves

Pat Shore, Revere Rockies

Chris DeGiacomo, Al Thomas Athletics

Jimmy Ricoy, Somerville Alibrandis

Danny Lumb, Stoneham Sabers

Skylar Beckerman, East Boston Knights

Joe Skoczylas, McKay Club Beacons

“Hey Rookie, you were good.” -Shoeless Joe Jackson

The Silver Sluggers and Gold Glovers will be posted on Monday.

Comments Off on More 2016 YBL Awards Announced

Filed under Uncategorized