2016 Silver Slugger and Gold Glove Winners Announced

At the Yawkey League Banquet on November 19th at the IBEW Hall in Dorchester, the Yawkey League will also honor its Silver Slugger and Gold Glove Award winners.


2016 Gold Gloves

P  Matt Nicholson, Brighton Black Sox

C  Tony Iafolla, Revere Rockies

1B Angelo Collucci, Stoneham Sabers

2B Tim Varakis, Brighton Black Sox

3B Chris Hartery, Revere Rockies

SS Mark Addesa, Somerville Alibrandis

OF Mike Maguire, Somerville Alibrandis

OF Trevor Boyce, South Boston Saints

OF Dave Clarke, Savin Hill Dodgers


2016 Silver Sluggers

P  Mike Smith, Brighton Braves

C  Matt Rodriguez, Al Thomas Athletics

1B Apolinar De La Cruz, Brighton Black Sox

2B PJ McDonald, Malden Maddogs

3B Tommy Lenane, Stoneham Sabers

SS Spencer Tonies, Brighton Black Sox

OF Freddi Carrera, Al Thomas Athletics

OF Bobby Barrett, Somerville Alibrandis

OF Trevor Boyce, South Boston Saints

DH Kevin Luciano, Stoneham Sabers



Leave a Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

More 2016 YBL Awards Announced

The 2016 YBL Banquet is slated for November 19th at the IBEW Hall in Dorchester and here are more YBLers who will receive awards on our night of stars.

Tarpey/Skinner Award for Service to the YBL-Richard Soohoo, East Boston Knights

The President’s Award-Marty Walsh, Mayor of Boston

The Yawkey Appreciation Award-Brian Rizzo, Savin Hill Dodgers

2016 YBL All-Rookie Team


Noah Zavolas, Charlestown Townies

Javi Martinez, Savin Hill Dodgers

Ted Downing, South Boston Saints

Noah Paredes, Malden Maddogs

Spencer Tonies, Brighton Black Sox

Carlos Yan, South End Astros

Andrew Whitten, Brighton Braves

Pat Shore, Revere Rockies

Chris DeGiacomo, Al Thomas Athletics

Jimmy Ricoy, Somerville Alibrandis

Danny Lumb, Stoneham Sabers

Skylar Beckerman, East Boston Knights

Joe Skoczylas, McKay Club Beacons

“Hey Rookie, you were good.” -Shoeless Joe Jackson

The Silver Sluggers and Gold Glovers will be posted on Monday.

Leave a Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

2016 YBL Banquet Date and Awards Announced


To all Yawkey Leaguers past, present and future; November 19, 2016 will be the night that we honor this year’s individual and team award winners.  The Yawkey League Hall of Fame Class of 2016 will also be inducted.  The location will be the IBEW Hall on Freeport Street in Dorchester as it has been for so many years now.  Please save the date and join us for our night of champions!!!

For ticket information please reach out to Joe O’Hara (joeohara64@hotmail.com) and/or Dave McKay (bostonbaseballhead@gmail.com).

2016 YBL Awards

Most Valuable Player-Bobby Barrett, Somerville Alibrandis

Pitcher of the Year-Mike Smith, Brighton Braves

Rookie of the Year- Noah Zavolas, Charlestown Townies

Comeback Player of the Year-Kenny Luongo, East Boston Knights

Manager of the Year-Bernie Driscoll, Somerville Alibrandis

Gentleman of the Year-Dave McKay, McKay Club

Executive of the Year-Marc DesRoches, YBL Commissioner

Franchise of the Year-Al Thomas Athletics

Umpire of the Year-Joe Peters, Massachusetts Baseball Umpires Association


Leave a Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Upcoming Events…



It’s that time of year again.  On October 8th (9am first pitch) and 9th (early afternoon finish) at Adams Field in Quincy we will be raising money and awareness in the fight to rid the world of ALS.   See Link for further information.

Coaches vs. Cancer Classic

Also, our friends at the Commonwealth Amateur Baseball League will be running their Coaches vs. Cancer tournament as well.  Our own Stoneham Sabres will be looking to defend their title from last year’s tournament while raising money that will go toward cancer research.


**A date for the 2016 Yawkey League Banquet has yet to be finalized.

Leave a Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

YBLCS Game 4 Recap

2016 Alibrandis Champs Photo Celtics Championship Pic

Anything is possiblllllllllllle…move over Boston Celtics there is a new local franchise who can boast 17 Championship Titles.  In Game 4 the Somerville Alibrandis franchise was able to win 7-4 completing the series sweep and winning the 2016 Yawkey League Championship.  Somerville has been to the YBL Finals 17 times in its history and they have won every single time, 17-0.

The story starts with the Alibrandis pitching staff which was asked to keep the Al Thomas Athletics’ line-up at bay.  Al Thomas proved to be the most prolific offense in the history of the Yawkey League through the regular season, but the Somerville pitching staff was equal to the task holding them to 11 runs in the 4 game series. Quality starts by Sean Sullivan, Chris Foundas, Chris Costa and Jon Morse followed by bullpen help from Brian Tanguy and Lamarre Rey was a recipe for pitching success.

Head Coach Bernie Driscoll had the Alibrandis offense in high gear throughout the series scoring a total of 37 runs in the 4 games.  They were able to hit that stride of grinding out at-bats, being tough outs, working pitchers, taking the extra base, taking advantage of miscues and getting huge, clutch hits when the table was set.  Bobby Barrett edged out Teddy Dziuba and Will Brennan to take the YBL Playoff MVP Award.  Barrett led the high powered Alibrandis offense in hits, extra base hits, OBP, Slugging Percentage, OPS and Batting Average throughout the post-season.

Tip of the cap goes to the Al Thomas Club for a fantastic season.  They have always exemplified what we want to see in a Yawkey League franchise both on and off the field.  Joe O’Hara, John Kostas, Matt McDougall and the late, great Al Thomas have a ton to be proud of with their 2016 campaign.  Best of luck to Coach John Kostas and his wife as they soon welcome a new addition to their family, if not already by post-time.

Congratulations to Somerville Alibrandis for coming out on top once again.  This is 7 titles in a row which equals the consecutive amount set by the 2005, 2006 and 2007 Somerville rosters.  If this is the final season for Head Coach Bernie Driscoll, then we wish him the very best.  The Yawkey League will certainly be losing and irreplaceable piece.

The date for the 2016 Yawkey League Banquet should be announced this week or next.

Leave a Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

YBLCS Game 3 Recap

Dave Roberts Stolen Base

Just a reminder that no 7 game series finishes at 3-0…

Chris Costa spins a gem for Somerville Alibrandis to put them one win away from a 7th consecutive Yawkey League Championship.  In Game 3, Costa threw a complete game victory with 10 strikeouts against the powerful ATBC lineup.  Costa seemed to always come up with a huge strikeout when ATBC put the pressure on.

Alibrandis would continue its torrid hitting building a  3-0 lead in the first three frames before tacking on 7 runs in the bottom of the 4th powered by a line drive Grand Slam by first baseman Gordie Gronkowski.  Somerville would get a multi-hit night from Will Brennan and a clutch 2 RBI single from Teddy Dziuba to add the cushion they would need.

James Katsiroubas had the only multi-hit game for ATBC with the only RBI.  The 2015 Yawkey League MVP is fun to watch with a smoked double to left and an RBI single by 3rd baseman Bobby Barrett who didn’t have  a chance to react.

Most importantly the YBL wishes ATBC Coach/3rd Baseman/Captain John Kostas the very best of luck as he and his wife soon welcome Baby Kostas into the world, “any time now…”  It’s a rare occasion where baseball takes a backseat and we all stand up and applaud.

Game 4 is set for 2pm at St. Peters on Saturday.

Leave a Comment

Filed under Uncategorized